Salad Days

I have not been as diligent with writing as I have been with cooking.  I will attempt to remedy that this week.  I have been craving salad a lot lately. Perhaps it is the desire for it to be warm, for spring, for grilled meats. But at this time of year I also still crave hearty meals. So this week’s theme – hearty salads.



Menu Board for week of March 8th

According to food historians the Babylonians and Romans first ate greens with the dressings of vinegar and oil almost 2000 years ago.  Salads certainly have changed and evolved in those past 2000 years. This week I have two salads on my menu.  One Vietnamese and one more tex-mex.  This weekend I pre-made the below dressing to make a weeknight dinner faster.

Cilantro Lime Dressing 

Ingredients

– 1 cup loosely packed cilantro, stems removed and roughly chopped

– 1/2 avocado (or 1/2 cup plain coconut or Greek yogurt)

– 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice (about 1/2 lime), more to taste

– 1-2 cloves of garlic

– 1/4 cup of olive oil

– 1 1/2 tsp. white wine vinegar

– 1/8 tsp. salt

Directions

Puree all ingredients in a blender or food processor until smooth.

Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.



Happy eating this week!


2 thoughts on “Salad Days

  1. Madeleine March 9, 2015 / 7:26 am

    Love this one! I’ve been enjoying your posts, Jessica.

    Like

    • jsilvermitchell March 15, 2015 / 5:41 pm

      Thanks Madeleine. I enjoy writing it and am glad to know some folks out there (other than my husband and parents) are reading it!

      Like

Leave a comment